Rocky Horror Quilt Challenge

23 03 2016

Challenge quilts are cool and a great way to experiment. The Rocky Horror Picture Show is also pretty dang cool. So sexy. So when Trisha F. posted a link on Facebook to the BadAss Quilter’s Society Rocky Horror Picture Show challenge … well, I couldn’t NOT sign up!

FullSizeRender
My first full-production RHPS experience was in the mid-80s while in Air Force Tech School in Denver, CO. As a first timer (“virgin”), I got up on stage before the show, stood in line, and had a cherry put in my mouth with the stem sticking out. “Magenta” came by to pop the stem off of each of ours with her teeth.

IMG_2909

I didn’t know what was going down.
And I LOVE maraschino cherries (give me a jar & they’re gone).
So, of course, I ate my cherry. Yummmm.
Magenta got to me and asked me where was my cherry.
I said that I ate it.

She turned to the audience and yelled:

“SHE POPPED HER OWN CHERRY!!!!”

And so it began. 😀

IMG_2931

A couple of friends from work perform with the local RH production group, Velvet Darkness. I asked one, Sara Morrissey, to design the quilt and told her that I would make it and give it to her. This is Sara’s awesome design:

And this is what she based it on:

IMG_2930

It’s a subtle nod to the fact that Rocky is a spoof of old horror flicks (and the tower shows up at the end).

IMG_2670The material (except a square of gold faux leather and some fancy gold accents), is all from my new favorite line of solids: Grunge Basics by BasicGrey for Moda Fabrics. The challenge package opening was even more exciting than the arrival.

IMG_2810

 

 

 

Because I always seemed to find the most difficult way to do something and have a light bulb moment illuminating an easier way to do it when I’m one or two steps away from completion, the tower is not appliqued with easy little strips and a bunch of straight lines.  No, no, no.  It is pieced. All of it. every triangle and white segment. All at odd random angles. Pieced.IMG_2908

In an effort to get more comfortable with quilting, a couple of details are in the stitching, such as a little fishnet criss-cross in the border:

IMG_2907

And the BOSS tattoo (a bit hard to see with black on black):

IMG_2905

And Dr. Frank-N-Furter:

IMG_2895

This is what I did with some of the scraps.

It was a fun, difficult challenge (those are the best, right?) and I’m glad that it’s going to a good home.  Next time: Think applique!! (Finished size: 60 x 88″)

IMG_2929

OK, so now (24-30 Mar), head over here to check out all of the other really cool entries (really, they’re quite impressive) and then. Vote. For. Mine. Please. It’s easy: just click.
And check out a super cool quilt haven: BadAss Quilter’s Society. I mean, just that name!

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 03 2016
Project Quilting Season 7 Challenge 6: Flying Geese in a Monkey Wrench | ~enjoy the journey~

[…] craft table was a mess of scraps from the Rocky Horror challenge, so guess what some of them became: a couple of flying geese and a monkey wrench, of […]

8 04 2016
stephanyratliff658

I had been suggested this website by my own relative.. Click Webpage I am just don’t sure whether this particular distribute is usually created as a r Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Leave a Reply

