Paul is the Center Star!

30 01 2016

IMG_2702I love my guy. I really do.
It’s just that I was a bit intimidated about making his quilt … for over 2 years.

OK, here’s my confession: I’m super, super proud of this quilt!!!  It’s definitely traditional, and even (mostly) came from a pattern and kit, but dang!  It’s cool. I took my time (and lots of stitches out). The points are sharp and it lays flat. That all may not be a big deal to some, but it’s a a bit of an accomplishment in this house.

IMG_2714Here’s the basics:
Size: Approx. 100 x 100″
Center pattern: Center Star by Julie Hendrickson
It can be found in the Spring 2013 edition of Primitive Quilts.
The border was made from the scraps using a Pinterest pattern using half square triangles.
Material from JJ Stitches.
Quilted by Cindy Hasse

 

The Story:
In Sep 2013, Paul found this quilt at the Quilt Expo. I said, Sure, it’s just squares and triangles, I can do that.  After we got it home, and after reading the instructions, I got scared.IMG_2708
So the material sat. And sat.
I would pick up the instructions, read them, remember the scared, put them down, and make something easier. Paul frequently walked by with the comment: “That doesn’t look like my quilt.”
When we moved, I packed every other quilty project or potential project to force some progress on this.  It worked and the center start was pieced!
IMG_2709

 

That was March 2015. After the move, it once again sat. At the end of my cutting table. For months.
But here’s the thing: I’m glad I procrastinated. This quilt needed to be my best. I needed to be confident and careful. I needed to have a better relationship established with my Seam Ripper. (We are now besties!) This is my Masters degree thesis paper. And I was making it to impress my favorite professor.

IMG_2707

After over a year of telling her monthly that I was getting close, Cindy Hasse finally received the top in December and called for pick up this month!!  I had been admiring her quilting for years and knew from the beginning that she was the one who should quilt this one. She did a beautiful job!! The borders are my favorite with the graphic edges. And she replicated the border pattern in the stitching. How cool!!

IMG_2711

 

IMG_2713
With a red binding to frame it all, the quilt is done!!!
Clap, clap, clap!!

Now begins the process of crossing off items from the #2016sewmystash list. There are 18 remaining projects for 2016.

Ready? Go!

 

 

 

 

IMG_2706

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 01 2016
Trina Peterson

This is gorgeous!! You should definitely show it. Great job Dayna!

30 01 2016
Melanie McNeil

Congratulations! Now you can do ANYTHING! 🙂

Leave a Reply

