Project Quilting Season 7: Challenge 2

17 01 2016

Project Quilting Season 7 kicked off earlier this month! I missed the first challenge (Confetti), but was able to get this little snowflake mug rug done today for the second challenge: Seasons.  I knew that if it didn’t get done today, it wouldn’t get done.  Plus I needed a winter mug rug for work. It’s about 6 x 6″ and the background and binding are made of Tula Pink’s Free Fall material. Padded thermo fabric was used as the batting.

Here’s the mug rug after assembly:

imageSince this is the first time I’ve done raw edge applique, I thought it would be interesting to see what it would look like washed.

The frayed edges actually look kind of cool.  There will be more of that happening around here.

image

I also made a little bird mug ruimageg from the same fabric.
Love this one!

The Tula Pink Free Fall fabric was the backing to my latest quilt – My City Birds:

City Birds

OK, and one more super cool thing from this very quilty weekend …
The fabric for the Rocky Horror Picture Show Challenge presented by the BadAss Quilters Society arrived in a fabulously wrapped little bundle!  For the design, I’m collaborating with a local Rocky cast member and graphic artist. We are just beyond excited about this one and can’t wait to use that piece of gold.Rocky

Actions

Information

8 responses

18 01 2016
Trina Peterson

Love your mug rug Dayna! And can I tell you one of my deepest, darkest secrets? I’ve never seen the Rocky Horror Picture Show. 🙀🙀🙀🙀 I know, right?!? I need to get on that.

30 01 2016
dayna

Thanks, Trina! We need to get you to a show! There are a couple of groups that do the whole production in the area.

24 01 2016
Carla

Your mug rug is super cute. Love the fabric!

30 01 2016
dayna

Thanks! The Tula Pink Free Fall is just really luscious.

24 01 2016
Vicki

I love the shabby look of the raw edged applique! And that quilt is beautiful!

30 01 2016
dayna

Thanks! Yeah, I’m liking the raw edged look, also!

27 01 2016
Janet Hartje

I’ve never made a mug rug, these are adorable. I think this will be on my list of things to try soon. Love your new fabric too!

30 01 2016
dayna

They are super easy and a fun way to use scraps!

Leave a Reply

