#reverb10 Day 12: Body Integration

13 12 2010

NOT chubby bubbles girl,
but I bet her mind (push
button) was very integrated
with her body (thirsty)!

PROMPT: This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but simply a cohesive YOU, alive and present?

Our writing teacher gave us a prompt after we spent about 20 minutes wandering around in her backyard. The prompt was to write from our body. I spent a few minutes floundering and than just decided that there was nothing to contribute and stopped writing. My writing ended with “I’m going to sit back and listen. I got nuthin’ for this one. But it sure was nice being outside.” I am feeling the same way about this Day 12 prompt.

What does mind/body integration mean? What is non-integration? Is that even possible? Is it “chubby bubbles girl“? The body suffers when my mind is not attentive and and reaps the benefits when the mind is being mindful. So, even when the body is disconnected (in the “thinking about” sense) from the mind, there is still a connection (cause/effect), just maybe not an awareness.

I feel most aware of my body when I’m using it or pushing the limits past comfort. Is that integration?

Maybe I’ll just sit back and listen for this one (or, well, read).

Actions

Information

One response

15 12 2010
Kim

I was so confused trying to answer this myself. I very nearly said “I got nothin'” myself. But there’s nothing a migraine sufferer loves like talking about her headaches.

For me, if I’m pushing myself *past* comfort, that’s when I start to feel more separation between my mind and body. But then, I’m not an athletic kind of person, so someone who really gets into physical activity in a primal way is going to have a way different experience from me.

Leave a Reply

