#reverb10 Day 6: Make

6 12 2010

PROMPT: Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

I started it a couple of years ago.  I’ve always thought that making and giving a quilt to someone was a huge gift of love and, maybe corny, but symbolic of the piecing together of a relationship.  Some patterns and pieces you like more than others, but the overall quilt is what matters: how it feels, how the colors and prints come together, how much work goes into it.  While working on a quilt for someone, I tend to think about that person; what they would like, their role in my life, what our relationship meant and means.   I had made and gifted quilts, but had never made one for myself.

A couple of years ago, I decided that it was time.  I cut up some old clothes and scraps of material and started piecing together my Trip Around the World.  It felt so good to finally think about what I wanted, what was MY relationship to myself and what does that mean.  I really don’t remember what was going on in my life at the time, but I imagine when I started, I must have been in a pretty good place.

Generally, when I make a quilt (or do almost anything) there is VERY LITTLE planning.  I create on the fly and solve issues as they arise and this quilt was no exception.  I just love watching the process of something coming together into a finished product that I couldn’t have imagined.

But something happened: I ran out of one of the prints AND the quilt was too long and narrow. And I was pissed-and just maybe, had stepped into a depression or something-and stopped.  I hated the quilt, hated the way I refuse to plan, hated sewing.  The quilt and miscellaneous pieces were packed into a bag and tucked into a cabinet next to the sewing machine and neither one came out for a really, really long time.

Until 2 weeks ago.  I took a week off of work, came across the bag & thought: “Could it really be that bad?”  After buying some more material that matches close enough and tearing out a few rows and sewing in a few more, my quilt looks beautiful and I love it again.  It’s just needs to be finished off with some binding and it will keep me toasty all winter.

My feelings toward the quilt seem reflective of my approach to many things and maybe even life:
1) Treat yourself well
2) It’s ok to step away
3) It’s ok to come back to something and work through the issues when you are ready
4) Even ugly pieces can make a beautiful whole

Actions

Information

7 responses

6 12 2010
M. A. Brotherton

My grandmother used to make quilts for all of us grandkids. To me, its always seemed like the ultimate symbol of matronly love. She took the time to craft something unique and wonderful for each of her grandkids, something that would keep us all warm and cozy during the winter. I used my quilt as my primary bedding for years, until it literally fell apart.

I think making one for yourself is probably a great way to remind yourself that you’re worth it.

6 12 2010
mark

I really enjoyed the summary. Good lessons pulled from your quilt.

We have quilts made by several now departed family members. It’s a way to hug them from time to time.

6 12 2010
Ted

That is a beautiful quilt! Reminds me of my late grandmother-in-law. We have numerous quilts and afghans that she made. Don’t ever give up, they will be important to someone someday!

6 12 2010
#Reverb10 – Making a Plan | Matt Surfs the Universe

[…] You can’t blame him really, he doesn’t wear pants. That tends to lead to free thinking. Enjoy the Journey was on the opposite end of the extreme, quite literally discussion of how she made a quilt for […]

8 12 2010
Minny

LOVE this story, very nice!

10 12 2010
Kim

I really, really liked this. Especially when it comes to your lessons from the quilt. I’m also in awe of all the work it takes to do something like that. Lord, it’s gorgeous. I’m going to pass this along to a friend who’s contemplating a quilt of her own soon.

8 02 2012
#Reverb10 – Making a Plan | MABrotherton.Com

[…] You can’t blame him really, he doesn’t wear pants. That tends to lead to free thinking. Enjoy the Journey was on the opposite end of the extreme, quite literally discussion of how she made a quilt for […]

Leave a Reply

