#reverb10 Day 2: Writing

2 12 2010
 


PROMPT: Writing.
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?

It’s simple: I don’t make writing a priority.  I would much rather spend 2.5 hours in silence with a close friend and absorbing that energy than spend 2.5 hours putting words to paper.  The latter experience seems so flat compared to the former and I would rather have an experience than try to conjure words to describe an experience.  Having said that, I love writing and get a bit of satisfaction when I’ve taken the time to capture a moment in a sentence, but I have no delusions of being a “writer” or making it a profession or having my words preserved for even one generation past my death.  My words and my experiences are both transient, so the emphasis is placed on the experiences and I don’t want to eliminate or change that.

What I do is force my writing into a scheduled structure, so there is no guilt if no words are typed or scribbled outside of that.  My Wednesday night Contemplative Writing Class has kept the words flowing for, how many? 3years? and in return I am treated to some of the most intense, honest, pure, unedited writing from my classmates and friends.  Anything written outside of those prompts and the subsequent 20 minutes of letters cascading on paper is bonus.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

