A Week in the Life

8 05 2009

 

Concerned Other

Concerned Other

My evenings this week:

Monday: Rainbow Board Meeting with Mandi (and others) to talk about how to replace one of the most valuable employees.

Tuesday: Played my role as “Concerned Other” for a friend who has to attend a class after his 2nd DWI.  The people in the class had to present their plans for not letting another drunk driving incident happen again.  I had a lot of doodle time.  Some quotes from the class:
“It’s not behind me, but in front of me.” 
“I need to remember that I’m a good, kind, caring person.  I tend not to do that.”
“We all have our crutches.”
Some common themes: loneliness, low self-esteem, depression 

Wednesday: With a couple of other women, helped plant a friend’s garden.  Later I touched on a wound that opened itself back up in contemplative writing class.   I was reminded once again of how fortunate I am to meet weekly with such a supportive, genuine group of beautiful women and get the opportunity to probe a bit deeper.

Billy Joel/Elton John

Billy Joel/Elton John

Thursday: Checked IDs for a bunch of people (who had enough wrinkles or grey hair to not need IDs checked) as a volunteer for the Billy Joel/Elton John concert and got to watch most of the concert for free. Incredible!!!
Favorite moment: They sang the last song, Piano Man, together with the whole sold-out crowd singing along.  At the end of the song they stopped and WE sang to them:
“Sing us a song, you’re a piano man
sing us a song tonight
Cause we’re all in the mood for a melody
and you’ve got us feelin’ all right.”

Friday-Sunday: Packed up for a weekend camping trip with Andy and his scout troop.  Predictions are hiking and biking in the rain.  
My Mother’s Day gift: my son stuck on a camping trip with me. 😉

Monday: Pass-out!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

