Kite Runner

29 11 2007

I love a good story. One that pulls me in and especially one that can carry me to another culture, another place, another understanding.

Last night, I found that: “Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini.

kite runner

I came across the book after hearing about the controversy involving the child actors from Afghanistan and the release of the movie.

So, I checked it out from the library, expecting to read a chapter or two and then set it aside. That happened the first night, but the second night…I literally couldn’t put the book down and didn’t get tired until around 3 AM. I woke up a couple hours later, got ready for the day, and thought to myself “I’ll just read one chapter and then head out.”

Well, I finished the book…and arrived at work a bit late.

Of course, I’m too tired to write anything thoughtful right now, but all day I’ve had the background feeling of having just woke up from an intense dream or of having traveled to some foreign country for a short crazy period of time and trying to process themes and meaning of what I had just experienced.

Here are a couple of my favorite quotes:

For me, America was a place to bury my memories.

For Baba [father], a place to mourn his.

Describing an immigrant experience:

Long before the Roussi army marched into Afghanistan, long before villages were burned and schools destroyed, long before mines were planted like seeds of death and children buried in rock-pile graves, Kabul had become a city of ghosts for me. A city of harelipped ghosts.

America was different. America was a river, roaring along, unmindful of the past. I could wade into this river, let my sins drown to the bottom, let the waters carry me someplace far. Someplace with no ghosts, no memories and no sins.

If for nothing else, for that, I embraced America.

I liked that the author almost sets up the story for a non-ending, but then provides a very real one.
I liked the cultural descriptions and contexts.
I liked the journey.

Thank-you for the journey, Dr. Hosseini.

(His next book: A Thousand Splendid Suns)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

