Therapy: Round 3

1 11 2007

trees

It grabbed ahold again.

For the past 2 years I was able to get through the winter by anticipating and then relishing in the afterglow of the trip to Tanzania. Not this year. It just hit…hard. So, since I can’t afford to just fly away somewhere, I’m going to face it. I started therapy again on Tues. The first two times were after the divorce and during the end of another significant relationship…both, by the way, ended on Nov. 7 after a very depressing Oct. (There were other issues, of couse, I’m just pointing out the coincidence of the date.)
Such a pattern.

A couple of years I went to tanning beds. I know…evil in the worst way…and just not at all in line with who I am. But I did feel better.

This year, I’m going to change my approach and embrace the drive for inner reflection and the necessity of change.

I’m in Chapter 1 of “Winter Blues” by Norman E. Rosenthal, MD.   A skim of the book has surprised me with the number of topics that touch on something I’m experiencing & just came down on myself for: eating, carbs, tired, anxious, edgy, sad, withdrawn.

He evens discusses a paleolithic diet! Maybe I’ll finally jump on your wagon, Janene! But expect lots of question e-mails from me. Paleo brownies….yummmm……I still rememer.

The therapy session was ok. Really just me spilling out the life story. I would laugh through explaining some of the harder parts. She asked if these things were difficult at the time and I said yes. She said “But you’re laughing.”

I replied: “Laugh or cry…what do you want?”

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 11 2007
Minny Sota

if you don’t risk anything, then you risk even more. period.

13 11 2007
Susannahrosannahdannahhopkinsbailey

I think that you are right where you are supposed to be.. I’m here with you darlin’! Love you!

15 11 2007
dayna

Thanks, girls! Things are actually much better. It’s amazing what a little light can do!

Leave a Reply

